Reference Architecture

Explore the elements of the Cloudmarque Reference Architecture, and understand the design principles that lie behind it.

Getting around

The reference architecture is arranged in a three-tier hierarchy. Each component has a defined role and characteristics, providing “services” to other components. These services become more granular and specific deeper into the hierarchy.

Generic placeholder image
Cloudmarque Reference Architecture

The "root" of the hierarchy is the Cloud Reference Architecture itself. This may be applied universally to all cloud deployments in an organisation, or to individual environments within a cloud estate (for example aligned to business units, quality assurance, or apps).

The Reference Architecture is comprised of multiple:

Generic placeholder image
Building Blocks

A Building Block is an architectural subdomain, and contains solution templates for common concerns in that subdomain. They are high-level logical groups that contain related capabilities of a cloud estate. There are currently six building blocks:

Each Building Block is comprised of multiple:

Generic placeholder image
An architecture component is a collection of resources brought together to support a specific workload. This might be a compute workload such as a website, or an operational workload relating to maintenance activities. Each Stack is accompanied by cloud-specific tooling to accelerate management activities.
Edit this page on GitHub

The content on this page is published under Open Source licenses via GitHub. To submit issues or provide feedback please visit the repository.